Bringing Things Together

Lets start Intrepid right…

Posted by Greg on April 27, 2008

The release cycle for Hardy was awesome, and I definitely put more time and effort into it than any other.  But, I want to continue this momentum and increase my effort for Intrepid.  Luckily for me, next week is Ubuntu OpenWeek.

Ubuntu OpenWeek Logo

Seriously, I’m not just talking about the OpenWeek because Jorge talked about it last night at our release party.  I have recently triaged a fair number of bugs to a point where I know what needs to be changed and I could probably do it myself.  Simple string fixes are a good examples, or setting correct defaults, adding a dependency, etc.  But, to do this I should learn more about packaging.

One way to do that is to go to a Packaging Jam like what Rick put on for the Michigan LoCo.  I unfortunately was unable to make it (3 year anniversary is a good reason right?).  But, with the OpenWeek I should be able to get some basics out of the way before we do another Packaging Jam.

Also, if you’re interested in just learning how to report bugs, not even think about fixing them, there are events for you too at the OpenWeek (see schedule).  Be sure to remember that the times are in UTC, so that means subtract 4 hours for the eastern time zone (rest of you Americans can do the math from there).

I hope some of the people who attended our Hardy Release Party in Michigan last night can show up.  There was a lot of interest in helping with Ubuntu development in various ways from many people and this is the perfect place to start!

See you there!


My 5 today: #223230 (gnome-panel), #214695 (gnome-system-monitor), #223239 (hugin), #223262 (kdebase), #223263 (update-manager)
Do 5 a day – every day! https://wiki.ubuntu.com/5-A-Day

One Response to “Lets start Intrepid right…”

  1. Portes ouvertes cette semaine chez Ubuntu…

    Du 28 avril au Dimanche 3 mai, c’est la semaine portes ouvertes chez Ubuntu. Tout un programme est déjà en place afin de vous permettre de découvrir les coulisses de cette distribution, en apprendre plus sur le fonctionnement de telle ou telle…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

